BOOK REVIEW: Take a Chance by Abbi Glines

Take a Chance by Abbi Glines

Star Rating: 1.5 stars out of 5
Short Reaction: Sigh, why do I keep doing this to myself?
Blurb provided by Goodreads: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the story of Grant, the sexy playboy who first captured readers hearts in Fallen Too Far

When Harlow Manning’s rocker father goes on tour, he sends her to Rosemary Beach, Florida, to live with her half-sister, Nan. The problem: Nan despises her. Harlow has to keep her head down if she wants to get through the next nine months, which seems easy enough. Until gorgeous Grant Carter walks out of Nan’s room in nothing but his boxer briefs.

Grant made a huge mistake getting involved with a girl with venom in her veins. He’d known about Nan’s reputation, but still he couldn’t resist her. Nothing makes him regret the fling more than meeting Harlow, who sends his pulse racing. Yet Harlow wants nothing to do with a guy who could fall for her wicked half-sister even if there are no strings between Grant and Nan. Grant is desperate to redeem himself in Harlow’s eyes, but did he ruin his chances before he even met her?

WARNING: SPOILERS ARE STRIKED OUT.

Review:

This is a disclaimer:

I think I sort of might be biased because I pretty much dislike the New Adult genre. As of 23rd March 2014, I’ve never read a New Adult that had appealed to me, ever. This brings me to my next point…

I’ve never enjoyed an Abbi Glines book, ever. I’ve read The Vincent Boys, The Vincent Brothers, Fallen Too Far and the two others that followed and then I read this. Why do I keep doing this to myself, you ask? I don’t know. I might be classified as a masochist at this point.

So why do I dislike her books?

For starters, her main characters are practically duplicates of the main characters in her last book. The girl is always either virginal and innocent and the love interest is ALWAYS someone she absolutely can’t have (she tells herself this a million times in every chapter) but can’t help dreaming about because somehow…this guy just ‘understands’ her. Oh yeah, and they just happen to be described as perfect & without any flaw at all…yeah, you could say her characterisation is hella realistic.

I find all her books to be cheesy, grossly predictable and very formulaic. It always seems like either one of the character is: 

1. New to town
2. Very resistant to their attraction but really he/she is all they can ever think about

And it always ends this way:

1. They give in to the temptation 
2. They are ‘soul mates’

But right before the book ends, one of the two main characters is keeping a life threatening secret and the other half finds out and is so hurt and BAM! book 1 ends. 

*to be continued in book 2 where the revelation could’ve actually been solved then and there if the characters could have just sat the hell down and talk about it for an hour or so*.

I have yet to read a book from her that doesn’t follow this formula. Is she a one trick pony or what?

This book however, I enjoyed more than the Fallen Too Far trilogy. I’m far from liking it but I can admit honestly that I found myself smiling a couple of times. It still followed the same formula and the characters were still so painfully predictable but I think I buy into this romance more than the rest Abbi has concocted. Also, I can appreciate her trying to shake things up with the subplot even though it was just all wtf?

Aside from that small glimmer of hope, the story was still so underwhelming. I felt like I had read the exact same book before. And the subplot I mentioned? Even though I appreciated her attempt, I still found it RIDICULOUS. I mean not telling your freaking daughter that her mother was alive for that many years? For that dumbshit reason? In what universe does this happen? 

If I’m not mistaken, this New Adult novel still falls under a Contemporary. So why the hell does this book (and all her others) sound like a freaking fantasy with perfect people and situations that wouldn’t exist outside of this world she created?

Recommended to people who love New Adult and The Glines’ Formula.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Take a Chance by Abbi Glines

  1. Pingback: BOOKTUBE: April Wrap-Up’s, May TBR & Bargain Book Hauls! |

Leave a Reply

