Anticipatin’ & Waitin’: April 2014 Releases!

Greetings, all!

I’ve decided to do more segments on this blog other than book and movie reviews! Among many that I’ve come up with (you’ll see them soon, I hope!), I’ve decided to start with “Anticipatin’ & Waitin'” as my first new category! As you can tell, the title is incredible informal and it’s still in the works. For now, I’ll be stickin’ with this, though. See what I did there?

In this series, I’ve decided to write about the books I’m most looking forward to that are coming out in a particular month (in this case, April)! Now, since I’m a ‘lil late and it’s already the 17th of April, I will have no choice but to include the releases that came out before today! But of course, I’ll keep the books within the month 😉 And without further adieu, LEGGO.

1. WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE by Huntley Fitzpatrick (April 15th, 2014)

Image

Blurb provided by Goodreads: Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

 

Isn’t that cover so summery and gorgeous!? Gah! Huntley Fitzpatrick is a fantastic writer. Her debut novel, “My Life Next Door” is one of my favourite contemporary books, EVER. Heck, I think it’s one of my favourite books EVER. I looooved “My Life Next Door” with a passion (as you can tell) and was so drawn to her wonderful characters and the non-traditional plot that came along with it.

Judging by the blurb provided, it sounds like this story will take place in the same world as “My Life Next Door”! I’m not sure if this is a companion novel but I really can’t wait to read it and hopefully see Sam and Jase, *squeal*!

 

2. TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han (April 15th, 2014)

Image

Blurb provided by Goodreads: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

 

I know, I know. Another contemporary. Guys, I can’t help that it’s my favourite genre! Jenny Han is an author I greatly enjoy. Her writing is so fluttery and pretty and her stories are such a breeze to read! I know, I’m weird to describe her words like the wind. But it’s true! AND LOOK AT THE COVER! Isn’t it so pretty? *swoony eyes* I’ve read her “The Summer I Turned Pretty” trilogy two to three years ago and LOVED IT! But before I elaborate on my love for her trilogy, I have to disclose that I initially had no intention of reading it ever. The title totally turned me off. At first, I thought the book sounded superficial and fluffy until one day I faced my stupidity HEAD ON and just picked it up. Turns out, I devoured it in one sitting. Book 2 and Book 3 were easily consumed as well. I was completely and utterly wrong. Jenny Han created such fascinating multi-dimensional characters with interesting dynamics and situations that I could relate to so well. It was a great three days, I tell you. So, I totally recommend reading her trilogy too!

Her new book is the first of a duology, with the second, “PS I Still Love You” coming out next year! Is it just me, or are duologies the next ‘trilogies’, if you know what I mean? Anyway, I am so very excited to read this because I know it’ll be great. The premise is intriguing and I’m all ready for a sweet, romantic contemporary!

 

3. REBEL BELLE by Rachel Hawkins (April 8th, 2014)

Image

Blurb provided by Goodreads: Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

 

Holy shit, you guys. Excuse my French, but you have NO IDEA how badly I want this book. It’s not out in my country yet, but you can bet your bottom’s dollar that when I catch sight of it IN THE FLESH, it will be in my hands. Rachel freaking Hawkins, everyone, is absolutely fantastic. I can’t say it enough! She is one of my favourite authors, and rightfully so. Not only is she freaking hilarious in her books, (eg the “Hex Hall” trilogy) but she’s also so hilarious on Twitter! The Hex Hall trilogy is one of my most favourite trilogies, EVER, which only sets my expectations super high for this new series!

We can definitely expect great humour and kick-butt action from this book! It helps to know that all the Booktubers like Christine and Jesse loved it, with their glowing book reviews! In addition, the clever cover design just makes me want it more.

Book. Want. Now. (There’s nothing else to say, really.)

 

And that concludes my Anticipatin’ & Waitin’: April 2014! Hope to stick to this every month!

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

