Anticipatin’ & Waitin’: May 2014 Releases!

Hi, everyone!

Well, it’s that time again… The books I’m so looking forward to that are going to be released in the month of May! This time I’m right on track, having written this before May. I’m trying to keep this habit so that I don’t procrastinate…like for this month’s post. Oops! Yesterday marked the start of my small school break, which means I have three weeks of books, books, TV shows, books, movies, books and friends to hang out with! Yay! So there really is no excuse to not update the blog. Without further adieu, here are my most anticipated releases of May 2014! (You will be surprised, as I am, that there are only two contemporaries, heh!)

1. SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE by Morgan Matson (May 6th, 2014)


Since You've Been Gone

Blurb provided by Goodreads: The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait… what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um…

Morgan Matson is one of my favourite authors. She writes such beautiful stories that are not your typical contemporaries. I’ve read two books of hers, ‘Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour’ and ‘Second Chance Summer’ respectively and they are just fabulous. Both features two teenage girls with amazing character development. ‘Second Chance Summer’ in particular, brought me to tears.

I’m so very excited for her third book to come out! Not only is this a total cover LOVE, but the premise is so intriguing! Disappearing best friend? Bucket list? This sounds like the PERFECT summer read and I can’t wait to get my hands on it so I can just devour it during Summertime!

2. WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart (May 13th, 2014)

We Were Liars

Blurb provided by Goodreads: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I don’t know a whole lot about this book, if anything at all, but I’m already interested. All the early reviews I’ve read promised greatness and a plot twist like no other, as well as the reassurance that going into this blind is the best way to go. I mean, just read the blurb! It’s so incredibly vague, but it does the trick into making you ultra suspicious and curious! This book, I feel, can be classified as a psychological thriller and I don’t read much of that, especially in YA but I’m so looking forward to it! Agh, suspense!

3. OF NEPTUNE by Anna Banks (May 13th, 2014)

Of Neptune

Blurb provided by Goodreads: Emma and Galen’s kingdom and their love is threatened by long-lost Syrena in the brilliant conclusion to Anna Banks bestselling trilogy.

Emma, half human and half Syrena, and her Syrena love, Galen, need time together alone. Away from the kingdoms of Poseidon and Triton. Emma’s grandfather, the Poseidon king, suggests the two visit a small town called Neptune.

Neptune is home to both Syrena and Half-Breeds alike. But Emma and Galen didn’t sign up to be peacemakers between the ocean and the land-dwelling, freshwater Syrena. They didn’t bargain for meeting a charming Half-Breed named Reed, who can barely disguise his feelings for Emma. And they especially didn’t expect to find themselves in the middle of a power struggle that threatens not only their love but their ocean kingdoms.

This book is the third and final in the ‘Syrena Legacy’ series, following ‘Of Poisedon’ (Book 1) and ‘Of Triton’ (Book 2). I read the first two and I really, really enjoyed it! They are super quick to get through and the pacing of the books are remarkable. It’s a very light mermaid series that covers family, romance, and political problems under the sea! How fun, right!? Honestly, the main reason I’m looking forward to this last instalment is because I just want to get this series over and done with. Book 2 ended with a very clean and respectable solution, so you can imagine mine and everyone else’s confusion when it was announced Book 3 was in the works. I mean, say whaaaaa?! I don’t really get it, honestly. I found no strings loose, and if there were, it was fine so minor and inconsequential! Oh well, still going to pick this up anyway, because the covers are to DIE for.

4. CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE by Cassandra Care (May 27th, 2014)

City of Heavenly Fire

Blurb provided by Goodreads: ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID. 

I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance? Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last installment of the Mortal Instruments series!

Do I even need to elaborate? Do I even need to include this on the list? Like, this is EVERYONE’S anticipatin’ & waitin’! This book is the end to the epic saga that consumed my life back in 2011. This book will tell us who will die. THIS BOOK, you guys. THIS BOOK, and it’s FINALLY over. I sound relieved, don’t I? Well, it’s because I am. As much of a fan I am of the Shadowhunter world, the suspense is just killing me. Finishing ‘City of Glass’, the 3rd book in this 6 book series, was a milestone for me. However, the world was so rich and intoxicating, that I kinda knew Clare wouldn’t deviate from it. The world had lots more potential and BOOM! Three more trilogies were spawned, two of which have yet to be released into the world. Before I gush/whine anymore, I have to disclose that I haven’t read ‘City of Lost Souls’ yet. I know, I know…what the hell?! But I have a plausible reason over here. I finished the first four books in November 2011. CoLS came out 6-7 months later. CoHF was scheduled TWO YEARS LATER (this year). Can you imagine the exasperation? I knew I couldn’t read CoLS, especially after knowing I’d have to wait two years because I knew I wouldn’t remember anything. I don’t particularly like rereading my fantasy books, so this was a huge factor for me. But now that we are merely weeks away, I am salivating.

I. WANT. THAT. BOOK. (After I read CoLS, of course, and remind myself of the events in CoFA).

 

So these are the books I’m looking forward to in the month of May! *happy dance* What are you most looking forward to, stranger?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

