BOOK REVIEW: Insurgent (#2) by Veronica Roth

Book review image photo (5)

Star Rating: 5 stars out of 5
Short Reaction: BETTER THAN THE FIRST + CAN I MARRY URIAH?
Published on/by: May 1st 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books (International First Edition)
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 529 pages
Synopsis provided by Goodreads: Tris has survived a brutal attack on her former home and family. But she has paid a terrible price. Wracked by grief and guilt, she becomes ever more reckless as she struggles to accept her new future.

Yet if Tris wants to uncover the truth about her world, she must be stronger than ever… because more shocking choices and sacrifices lie ahead.

NON-SPOILERY/GUSHY REVIEW:

I don’t even know why I’m writing a review on a book I read about two weeks ago. But then again, I don’t know why I’m writing a review on a book EVERYONE and their grandparents have read. But alas, I kinda have some things to say and after finishing Allegiant last night…boy, do I have some things to say.

Insurgent was even BETTER than Divergent. It delivered on all the emotional goods and really broadened the Divergent world as well as provide for great developments between friendships, romantic relationships as well as family dynamics. There were twists and turns, shocking revelations as well as conflicts. Lots and lots of juicy conflicts. I devoured this book in a matter of two days, which goes to show you how much I loved it. 

I wasn’t apprehensive starting this, despite all the reviews expressing disappointment over this sequel, mostly because of Raeleen from padfootandprongs7, who said in a video once that she had initially hated Insurgent because of the year long gap she had to wait to read it, but after marathoning the series in a recent read-a-thon, her love for it trumped Divergent’s. 

And so, I went into this book with good faith and an anxious heart and was so incredibly happy that I loved this even more than I thought I would! Obviously I cannot say too much, as this is the second book in a trilogy but just…ugh. It was a bittersweet kinda love, honestly, as there were deaths. Deaths of characters I adored. One great thing about Veronica Roth’s story-telling is her ability to not hold back and for that I applaud her and dislike her. 😉 

Definitely a full 5 stars for my favourite instalment in the trilogy! 

Leave a Reply

